Application Due Date: 1 November 2019

The Commonwealth Narrative Reward is granted for the very best piece of unpublished brief fiction (2,000– 5,000 words) in English. Regional winners get ₤ 2,500 and the total winner gets ₤ 5,000 Equated entries are likewise qualified, as are stories composed in the initial Bengali, Chinese, French, Greek, Kiswahili, Malay, Portuguese, Samoan, Tamil and Turkish. If the winning story remains in translation, the translator gets extra cash prize.


a. Entrants should be residents of a Commonwealth nation– please see.
Area 5 for the list of Commonwealth nations– or stateless individuals.
presently living in a Commonwealth nation. The Commonwealth.
Structure will ask for confirmation of citizenship status prior to.
winners are chosen. Entries from residents of non-Commonwealth.
nations are not qualified.

b. For local functions, entries will be evaluated by nation of.
citizenship. Where the author has double citizenship (of 2 Commonwealth.
nations), the entry will be evaluated in the area where the author is.
completely homeowner.

c. There is no requirement for the author to have present house.
in a Commonwealth nation, offering that they are a resident of a.
Commonwealth nation.

d. Entrants should be aged 18 years or over on 1 November 2019.

e. All entries will be accepted at the discretion of the Commonwealth.
Structure which will exercise its judgement, in assessment with the.
reward chair, in judgment on concerns of eligibility. The judgment of the.
chair on concerns of eligibility is last, and no even more.
correspondence will be participated in.

f. Entries from previous total winners of the Commonwealth Short.
Story Reward are not qualified. Entries from previous local winners are.

g. Entries from present members of personnel at the Commonwealth Structure are not qualified.

h. Entries should be unpublished and stay unpublished in any language till 1 May 2020.


Regional winners get ₤ 2,500 and the total winner gets ₤ 5,000

Entry guidelines

a. Entries, consisting of those in translation, should be made by the initial author.

b. Entries will just be accepted through the online entry type.

c. The due date for invoice of entries is 1 November 2019 (1159 pm in whenever zone).

d. Just one entry per author might be sent for the Commonwealth Narrative Reward.

e. The story should be the entrant’s own work.

f. The story should be initial work and ought to not have actually been released.
anywhere, completely or in part, in any language, prior to 1 May2020
Released work is taken to indicate released in any printed, openly.
available type, e.g. anthology, publication, paper. It is likewise taken.
to indicate released online, with the exception of individual blog sites and.
individual sites.

g. Entries formerly sent to the Commonwealth Narrative Reward are not qualified.

h. Entries ought to be sent in English, with the following.
exceptions: entries from Commonwealth residents who compose in Bengali,.
Chinese, French, Greek, Kiswahili, Malay, Portuguese, Samoan, Tamil and.
Turkish and who do not have an English translation of their
story, might send their stories in the initial language. English.
translations of narratives composed in other languages are qualified if.
sent by the author (not the translator) and offered that the.
translator is likewise a resident of a Commonwealth nation.

i. Synchronised submissions are qualified as long as the entrant.
notifies the Commonwealth Writers right away ought to the story be.
accepted for publication somewhere else or be chosen for a reward.

j. Entries should be 2,000 words minimum, 5,000 words optimum (not consisting of title).

For More Details:

Go To the Authorities Web Page of the 2020 Commonwealth Narrative Reward Composing Contest


Technology Used by Successwful Businesses