Due Date: November 1, 2019

Applications for the Commonwealth Narrative Reward 2020 are now open. The Commonwealth Narrative Reward is a yearly award for unpublished brief fiction administered and moneyed by the Commonwealth Structure.

The Reward is run by Commonwealth Writers, the cultural effort of the Commonwealth Structure. They motivate and link authors and writers throughout the world, bringing individual stories to an international audience. Commonwealth Writers thinks in the transformative power of imaginative expression in all its kinds. They deal with regional and worldwide partners to determine and provide a wide variety of cultural tasks. Their activities happen in Commonwealth nations, however their neighborhood is worldwide.


  • Regional winners get ₤ 2,500 and the total winner gets ₤ 5,000


  • Entrants need to be people of a Commonwealth nation or stateless individuals presently living in a Commonwealth nation:.
    • Africa: Botswana, Cameroon, Swatini, The Gambia, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia. Abroad Territories: Saint Helena, Tristan Da Cunha, Ascension Island.
    • Asia: Bangladesh, Brunei Darussalam, India, Malaysia, Pakistan, Singapore, Sri Lanka.
    • Canada and Europe: Canada, Cyprus, Malta, UK. Abroad Territories: Gibraltar, Falkland Islands.
    • Caribbean: Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago. Abroad Territories: Anguilla, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Montserrat, Turks and Caicos Islands.
    • Pacific: Australia, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu. Abroad Territories: Cook Islands, Niue, Pitcairn.
  • For local functions, entries will be evaluated by nation of citizenship. Where the author has double citizenship (of 2 Commonwealth nations), the entry will be evaluated in the area where the author is completely resident
  • There is no requirement for the author to have present home in a Commonwealth nation, supplying that they are a resident of a Commonwealth nation
  • Entrants need to be aged 18 years or over on November 1, 2019
  • All entries will be accepted at the discretion of the Commonwealth Structure which will exercise its judgement, in assessment with the reward chair, in judgment on concerns of eligibility. The judgment of the chair on concerns of eligibility is last, and no additional correspondence will be participated in
  • Entries from previous total winners of the Commonwealth Narrative Reward are not qualified. Entries from previous local winners are qualified
  • Entries from present members of personnel at the Commonwealth Structure are not qualified
  • Entries need to be unpublished and stay unpublished in any language up until May 1, 2020.

Entry Guidelines

  • Entries, consisting of those in translation, need to be made by the initial author
  • Just one entry per author might be sent for the Commonwealth Narrative Reward
  • The story need to be the entrant’s own work
  • The story need to be initial work and needs to not have actually been released anywhere, completely or in part, in any language, prior to May 1,2020 Released work is taken to indicate released in any printed, openly available kind, e.g. anthology, publication, paper. It is likewise taken to indicate released online, with the exception of individual blog sites and individual sites
  • Entries formerly sent to the Commonwealth Narrative Reward are not qualified
  • Entries must be sent in English, with the following exceptions: entries from Commonwealth people who compose in Bengali, Chinese, French, Greek, Kiswahili, Malay, Portuguese, Samoan, Tamil and Turkish and who do not have an English translation of their story, might send their stories in the initial language. English translations of narratives composed in other languages are qualified if sent by the author (not the translator) and supplied that the translator is likewise a resident of a Commonwealth nation
  • Synchronised submissions are qualified as long as the entrant notifies the Commonwealth Writers instantly must the story be accepted for publication in other places or be chosen for a reward
  • Entries need to be 2,000 words minimum, 5,000 words optimum (not consisting of title)
  • Entries must be submitted in a PDF file. Please conserve your file as a PDF and utilize the title of the story as the file name. Please keep in mind that the story should not be conserved as ‘Commonwealth Story’, ‘Narrative’ or any other generic title. If it is not possible to conserve the entry as a PDF file, it might be submitted as a Microsoft Word file, with the file name in the very same format as above. The very first page needs to consist of the name of the story and the variety of words
  • All entries must be sent in Arial 12- point typeface and double line spacing. All pages must be numbered and consist of a header with the title of the story
  • There are no limitations on setting, category or style
  • The story must be adult fiction and should not have actually been composed for kids alone.


Click on this link to send your entry

For additional information, go to Commonwealth Narrative Reward

Technology Used by Successwful Businesses