Due Date: May 31, 2019

The Kurt Schork Memorial Fund (KSMF) is accepting entries for its 2019 Awards in International Journalism The awards identify quality in bold reporting of dispute, corruption, human rights disobediences and other associated problems.

Considering that its beginning in 2002, the Kurt Schork Memorial Fund has actually looked for to support those reporters Kurt most appreciated, the freelancers and regional press reporters whose work is typically inadequately paid, primarily unrecognized and all frequently filled with risk. Today, the 3 yearly awards, for freelance and regional journalism and, given that 2017, for newsfixers, are acknowledged worldwide as a mark of quality and have a recognized performance history for brave reporting on dispute, corruption and oppression.

The Kurt Schork Memorial Fund exists to keep the world familiar with the financial obligation we owe to brave reporters who bring us news from unsafe locations. They yearly Kurt Schork Awards in International Journalism distinctively honor the work of freelance reporters and of regional press reporters in establishing nations or countries in shift who typically otherwise get little acknowledgment.


The only global acknowledgment of their type for print reporters, the awards are divided into 3 classifications:

  • Freelance Reporter Award: acknowledging reporters who take a trip to the world’s dispute zones, typically at terrific individual threat, to witness and report on the effect and repercussions of these occasions.
  • Regional Press Reporter Award: acknowledging the typically neglected work of reporters in establishing countries (or nations in shift) who blog about occasions in their homeland.
  • News Fixer Award: acknowledging regional reporters and/or specialists, worked with by a going to foreign press reporter or news organisation, whose assistance and regional understanding materially benefited the material, effect and reach of the stories sent.


  • The 3 awards of United States $5000 each will exist at a distinguished event in London in late October or November of2019 Given That 2009, the awards event has actually been hosted at the Thomson Reuters Structure’s primary workplaces in Canary Wharf, London.


  • Open to freelance reporters, regional press reporters and fixers from all over the world;-LRB- **************).
  • Entrants should send 3 short articles each– released in between June 1, 2018 and May 31, 2019.

Submission Criteria

  • 3 different short articles should be sent, consisting of when reporters are choosing fixers for the brand-new award.
  • The sent short articles should have been released in between June 1, 2018 and May 31, 2019.
  • Accepted media: any print-based medium, such as papers and publications, or developed online publications. Blog sites, individual sites and social networks pages or channels are declined.
  • Articles can incorporate war reporting, human rights problems, cross-border problems, corruption or other questionable matters effecting on individuals’s lives. Judges will be trying to find professionalism, high journalistic requirements, and proof of devotion and nerve in getting the story.
  • Due to the fact that of issues with scanned entries and stopped working links in previous years, we need that each post be supplied as a text file– MS Word (. doc or.docx) or comparable text format (. rtf), or a PDF of a text file.
  • You might provide a URL link to your post( s), or a scan (as a PDF or JPG file) as supporting proof of the publication context, however your entry will be disqualified if you do not likewise send the needed text files.
  • The awards panel will take into consideration elections for fixers who have actually gotten more than one suggestion from reporters they have actually dealt with.


Candidates should supply:

  • a CV or resumé about your education and journalism profession or about that of the fixer you are choosing.
  • a passport-quality image (JPEG, GIF or PNG file, size no bigger than 250 Kb) of yourself or that of the fixer you are choosing.
  • a high basic English translation if the initial short articles are not in English.
  • a brief declaration describing what you needed to do to get the story.

When it comes to the fixer award, they need from the nominating reporter:

  • A declaration of election
  • A copy of the story or stories created since of the chosen fixer’s participation
  • A declaration that the candidate knows that he/ or she is being chosen and has actually permitted for the election (or maybe the election for confidential if win). The awards panel will take into consideration elections for fixers who have actually gotten more than one suggestion from reporters they have actually dealt with.
  • An approval from the nominator and candidate that they accept the regards to the competitors
  • 2 recommendations

Click on this link to use

For additional information, go to Kurt Schork Awards

Technology Used by Successwful Businesses