Deadline: April 30, 2021

Nominations for the UNESCO-Greece Melina Mercouri International Prize 2021 for the Safeguarding and Management of Cultural Landscapes are now open. The Prize for the Safeguarding and Management of Cultural Landscapes was created in 1995 to reward outstanding examples of action to safeguard and enhance the world’s cultural landscapes, a category of World Heritage.

The Prize, generously supported by the Greek Government, bears the name of Melina Mercouri, former Minister of Culture of Greece and a strong advocate of integrated conservation. The last Prize was awarded in November 2019, in connection with the 40th Session of the UNESCO General Conference.


  • The US $30,000 Prize is awarded every two years to one laureate.



Individuals, site managers, institutions, other entities, communities or non-governmental organizations (NGOs) that have made a significant contribution to the safeguarding, management and enhancement of the world’s major cultural landscapes can be nominated.


Nominations can be submitted by

  • Governmental agencies from UNESCO Member States, in consultation with their National Commissions for UNESCO;
  • NGOs that have official partnerships with UNESCO; and
  • International, regional and national professional, academic and non-governmental organizations active in the field of cultural landscapes.


Submit a nomination form online, in English or French, before 30 April 2021 (midnight Paris time).

For more information, visit UNESCO.

Technology Used by Successwful Businesses