Deadline: January 11, 2022

Applications are open for the World Press Photo Contest 2022. The annual World Press Photo Contest recognizes and celebrates the best photojournalism and documentary photography produced over the last year.

The 2022 World Press Photo Contest works with 6 worldwide regions – Africa, Asia, Europe, North and Central America, South America, and Southeast Asia and Oceania. Each region has four format-based categories: Singles, Stories, Long-Term Projects and Open Format. These categories welcome entries that document news moments, events and aftermaths, as well as social, political and environmental issues or solutions.


As a winner, your work will be:

  • Included in an annual travelling exhibition shown around the world in over 80 cities.
  • Published on the Wold Press Photo website and social platforms with over 2 million followers.
  • Included in their yearbook.

You will also receive:

  • €1,000 for each of the 24 regional winners and an additional €5,000 for the four global winners.
  • An invitation to a winners’ event.
  • A physical award.


  • Open to all professional photographers worldwide.
  • They should be working in the field of photojournalism and/or documentary photography.


The format-based categories encompass all thematic categories from previous contests – such as general news, spot news, contemporary issues, environment, nature, sports, portraits – therefore entries on a wide range of themes may be submitted to the appropriate format-based category.


  • Single frame photographs.
  • All singles must have been shot in 2021.
  • All singles will be eligible for the World Press Photo of the Year award.


  • Stories can contain between 3 and 10 single frame photographs.
  • All photographs entered into the stories category must have been shot in 2020 or 2021. At least one photograph in a story must have been shot in 2021.
  • All stories will be eligible for the World Press Story of the Year award.

Long-Term Projects

  • Projects on a single theme containing between 24-30 single frame photographs.
  • An entry must contain photographs from at least three different years, and a minimum of four photographs must have been shot in 2021.
  • All projects will be eligible for the World Press Photo Long-Term Project award.

Open Formats

  • The Open Format category welcomes a range and/or mixture of storytelling mediums (including but not limited to): Polyptychs; multiple exposure images; stitched panoramas; photographic collages; interactive documentaries (for example AR, VR, web-based etc); short documentary videos of up to 15 minutes.
  • The main visual content of the project must be still photography, but can be presented in combination with (but not limited to) video, animation, graphics, illustrations, sound or text.
  • Entries in this category must have been produced or first published in 2021.
  • All projects that include text or audio elements must either have English-language audio and/or text or must be subtitled in English.
  • Entries in this category must be accessible online.
  • All projects will be eligible for the World Press Photo Open Format award.


Entries for the 2022 World Press Photo Contest are open until 11 January 2022, 12.00 (noon) CET. They are excited to welcome a multiplicity of stories and a diverse range of photographers from all over the world to enter the contest!

Click here to enter

For more information, visit World Press Photo Contest.

Technology Used by Successwful Businesses